Zolo 2012 “Gaucho Select” Bonarda

Mendoza, Argentina; 13.8% ABV
$4 at the Richmond, CA, store on 15 Sept

Zolo_2012_BonardaThis wine is pretty tasty from first pour, but gets downright delicious after about 45 minutes of air.  It shows somewhat tangy and earthy, dark red / medium purple fruit of cherry / plum, grape, and raspberry, and a little aromatic spice.  Although not strongly structured, the taste is nicely delineated.  It made me think that this is what you drink while waiting for the Las Huertas Cabernet to air.  🙂

The next day, the second half (stoppered in a 375ml bottle with very little air) was more simple, acid, and robust, still very flavorful and yummy, tasting more of blackberry / tar, and reminding me a good bit of Petite Sirah.  IMO, although you shouldn’t think of aging it, this is a heck of a bottle for $4.

3 thoughts on “Zolo 2012 “Gaucho Select” Bonarda

  1. lim13

    Had a bottle tonight and I heartily concur with your findings, BW…though I’m not quite sure what you and Expat mean by “not strongly structured”/”didn’t have a lot of structure”, as I didn’t find that to be the case. My notes: Opaque deep purple; a touch of sulfur in the nose when first poured, but that disappeared and it slowly opens up to tarry dark fruit aromas; tastes rather sweet on the front of the tongue, but then dries out considerably and gets thicker in texture through the finish and shows a good dose of raspy tannins and decent acidity; flavors of black plum and blackberry; quite delicious. Very Petite Sirah-like, as you stated.

    Reply
  2. Expat

    I think your flavor descriptions are right on. I liked this wine ok but I may have unrealistically been hoping for more when I saw it was a Bonarda. Like you say, it didn’t have a lot of structure. I’ve seen the Zolo brand before and I remember it being a decent wine for about $10. Therefore this is a great deal if you consider the price and the description sounds appealing. With so much wine in backstock this is not a re-buy for me.

    Reply
    1. GOWineLover

      Just opened this and have had this over two days. Good description. I’ll buy some at the wine sale for everyday drinking. Nothing complicated but no major dealbreakers for me.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

