Blackjack Ranch 2010 Chardonnay “Twenty-one”

Santa Barbara County, CA;  14.5% ABV
$4 at the Richmond, CA, store on 8 October

Blackjack_2010_ChardAfter the delicious 2007 Syrah from Blackjack, I was eager to try this one.  It’s a reasonable Chardonnay for the price, but I’m not as excited as I was about the Syrah.

On the first day, the Chardonnay is disappointingly rough, possibly slightly oxidized.  The fruit is very ripe yellow apple / pineapple, a little lemon, with a slight caramelization or butterscotch, plenty of balancing ripe acid, and some vanilla oak.  I really wanted to like it, and although not terrible, it mostly just came across as being too old.

However, to my surprise, the next day, it was much more smooth and become more delicate and integrated, especially as it warmed from fridge temperature.  For a ripe Chardonnay on its last legs this is actually pretty good!  My wife poured herself a glass and exclaimed, “This is good!  Get more!”  So I did.  🙂

5 thoughts on “Blackjack Ranch 2010 Chardonnay “Twenty-one”

  1. seedboy

    Mike, where did you see the Allusion. I found it briefly at the Pleasant Hill store. I really like it and want more. Nice Bordeaux blend, Lots of Cab Franc in the blend at least to my taste.

    Reply
    1. BargainWhine Post author

      Tonight, I opened a bottle of the Blackjack Allusion that I bought in the sale last November, and it’s my favorite bottle I’ve had of it so far. Other bottles have struck me as slightly too old, but this one is deliciously at full maturity, with almost syrupy sweetly ripe fruit.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

