David Girard 2011 Coda Rouge

46% Mourvédre, 36% Syrah, 15% Grenache, 3% Counoise; 14.2% ABV
El Dorado AVA, California
$4 at the Richmond, CA, store on 9 October

DavidGirard_2011_CodaRougeWhile I would normally jump on a Californian Rhone-style blend like this, the wine through the bottle, although it had a nice darker red / orange color, looked rather translucent.  Still, color saturation is not everything, and I had liked the Girard Roussanne, so decided to try this one, too.

The wine starts with dark red cherries — in a range from tart red — to ripe red — to dried — with the characteristic Sierra Foothills rich, brown earthiness / red brick.  It’s fairly simple, and with some of the cheap oak flavor I dislike.  I thought it finally integrated nicely after about 2:15 of air, and it continued to darken nicely to black raspberry and cherry later in the evening.  However, I really wish they hadn’t used the liquid oak extract or wood chips in a bag or whatever, because it totally obscures what seemed to be a nice, subtle blend of Rhone-style Sierra Foothills flavors.

The saved, single-glass, screwcap bottle was unfortunately even worse.  It was quite sulfurous right away, and remained rather roughly sulfurous for the hour or two over which I consumed it.  Even at $4, I think I have to go with Thumbs Down.

7 thoughts on “David Girard 2011 Coda Rouge

  1. Seedboy

    Tried another bottle of this. It is mostly Mourvedre and therefore bretty. I do not mind that. Had i not already bought some of the Mourvedre I would consider buying a few, probably just one.

    Reply
  2. seedboy

    Yesterday the Oakland store had a Viognier 70% Roussanne 30%. This wine is dominated by the very fruity V. I will revisit it today but doubt it is a repeat purchase.

    Reply
  3. Seedboy

    I found and bought a few bottles of the David Girard Mourvedre 2011 at Oakland (I bought it all). Nice wine. It starts out typically, including the expected bretty aromas, which blow off after an hour or so yielding an elegant, balanced wine with good black fruit.
    The Oakland store is trying to stock up on these Girard wines for the sale. It has been nice to get wine made by a real winery for $3.99 a bottle.

    Reply
    1. EHL

      Your notes on this unusual varietal piqued my interest, SB…and I was lucky enough to find a lonely bottle sitting on the shelf at Oakland recently, so I guess you didn’t totally clear out the inventory. I have never tried a straight Mourvedre before and I found it pretty interesting.

      Upon opening, this was one funky, skunky, little dark monkey. Not as bad as the infamous Panther Pinot, but definitely a brother of sorts.

      As noted, however, the earthy funk dissipates with a little time and the residual aroma does not overwhelm the pleasure of drinking it. On the first day, I found the wine to be a little closed, a bit on the thin side with a medium-light body, and showing tart acidity. However, on the second day, the wine darkened and smoothed out considerably, revealing a balanced and tasty palate of blackberry and black plum fruits with an intriguing, complex nose.

      A nice estate-grown wine and I would definitely buy more as it’s a bargain at $4…but, alas, I have not seen it again…

      ;}

      Reply
      1. seedboy

        That funky barnyardy thing is typical of Mourvedre, which apparently is susceptible to Brettanomyces, a yeast that creates that aroma. My plan with those wines is to cellar them a year or so and then get into them.

        Reply
  4. EHL

    Haven’t tried this particular bottle, BW, but I have had the David Girard Syrah (El Dorado) that has been circulating around the Bay Area GOs recently.

    After all the excellent Syrahs we have been treated to this past year, this one didn’t impress me at all.

    It struck me as thin and tart and, as you mentioned with the Coda Rouge, BW, a bit simple with unpleasant oakiness. Might run in the family. Nonetheless, WE seems to view these estate-produced Syrahs as serious wines: http://buyingguide.winemag.com/wineries/david-girard/varietals/shiraz-syrah/syrah.

    Reply
  5. Seedboy

    Ok I have been giving this more time because of the large mourvedre. To me this is the best of the recent GO blends but it really needs three days to show it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

