Villa Yambol 2010 Cabernet Sauvignon

Thracian Valley Region, Bulgaria; 13.5% ABV
imported by Bulgarian Master Vintners, LLC, of Sonoma
$5 at the Richmond, CA, store on 6 Nov

VillaYambol_2010_CabSauvI was wary because of the cheesy bottle (see the wavy grooves at top and bottom) and the simple red color of the wine through the bottle, but curiosity and the low sale price ($4) got the better of me.  Although I’m not sure I’d recognize it as Cabernet, he wine was actually pretty good for the price.

Upon pouring, the color was actually a pretty, blackish, dark red.  It was tasty enough after about 10 minutes of air that rather little survived to be fully aired after about an hour.  Then, the tangy, dark red / black cherry fruit thickened in texture and became much more satisfying.  The wine also had complexities of wood, tar, and dark herbs (rosemary? sage?).  The back label describes “ripe aromas of stewed black plums, fine tannins and a lovely core of liquorish [sic], and black fruit flavors, some cedar wood.”  This slightly exaggerates the complexity of the wine, but it is not a bad description.  This Bulgarian red is not as quite good as I recall the only other one (Enira blend) we’ve had here being, but especially at the sale price, this is a nice wine for daily drinking.

The saved single-glass screwcap bottle really improved my opinion of this wine.  The fruit and other flavors are more forward and integrated into a nicely balanced wine.  Definitely Thumbs Up!

3 thoughts on “Villa Yambol 2010 Cabernet Sauvignon

  1. flitcraft

    Have seen neither of the Bulgarian wines at any of the Seattle area GOs that I frequent. But your story reminds me of a party we once had, where we have four bottles of wine, and the challenge was to blend them to make a decent tipple. Fun, and we were all convinced that our ‘blends’ made silk purses out of sows’ ears.

    Reply
    1. BargainWhine Post author

      Funny you say so tonight. I opened the saved half bottles of these wines and found that I strongly preferred a blend with about 10% Merlot, which was delicious. 🙂

      Reply
  2. BargainWhine Post author

    I did my experiment of blending this wine with the Domaine Boyar Merlot, also from Bulgaria. I did the easiest thing of making a blend 50% of each. It was indeed pretty good, but I think that for my taste, I would have preferred a blend that was 2/3 to 3/4 Cab, with the rest Merlot. I saved half bottles of both wines and will try various proportions of each whenever I get to them.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

