Castillo del Tornos 2005 Gran Reserva

from Bodegas Ignacio Marin, Cariñena, Spain
60% Tempranillo, 40% Garnacha; 12.5% ABV
$7 at the Richmond, CA, store on 9 Nov

CastillaDelTornos_2005_GranReservaThis wine certainly looked impressive, and 2005 was a good year in Europe, but while there was nothing wrong with this wine, I was a little underwhelmed.

I thought it needed 1.5 – 2 hours of air in a decanter to show softer, ripe, darker red, cherry fruit of Grenache and some medium red cherry fruit of Tempranillo, with a slightly herbaceous character.  Although it was pleasant enough, I thought the wine could have used a little more acid and complexity.

The saved single-glass, screw cap bottle was certainly more acid, bordering on too much so, and showed more of the herbaceous character as stemmy or even a little green bell pepper (although I liked it).  Overall, I thought this wine was okay to good, but not very exciting.

6 thoughts on “Castillo del Tornos 2005 Gran Reserva

  1. jerry

    This wine won a gold medal at Berliner Wein Trophy in 2012, but I haven’t tasted it yet.

    Gran reserva means at least 18 months of oak aging and 3.5 years in bottle before release.

    Reply
  2. jimvan49

    We had this wine last night, and liked it. It had an “old world” character, but I think it also used some American oak in its aging (the oak was nicely supportive of the rather mellow fruit flavors, but had that slight pickle hint that speaks to me of American oak). I would echo the call to open it at least an hour and a half before drinking as it became more integrated in the glass over two hours. While not a great buy, it does give some aged, integrated qualities and seems to me to be a non-overwhelming, good food wine with some depth and pleasant flavor. It went well with wild mushroom risotto.

    Reply
  3. Expat

    I’d give this a Drinkable but in the context of price and expectation, I’d downgrade it to a Thumb’s Down. The only thing it had going for it was the overall dry style but I thought it was a little rough and entirely uninteresting. It just backslid the next day – tart, acidy with no new flavor elements. After opening it and experiencing a Debbie Downer moment I went to a several day old bottle of Cavatappi that I had lying around and liked it much better.

    Reply
  4. JoelA

    Can’t beat you to the lunch, can I! Just picked up a bottle of this in Oakland thinking I could be first to review it. Will work on it next week.

    Reply
      1. JoelA

        The wine’s okay, not exceptionally good. First day was a bit rough, second day the red fruit came up and the wine became quite pleasant. But this wine shouldn’t be kept ten years.

        Reply

Leave a Reply

