Forefront 2012 Zinfandel by Pine Ridge

Sonoma County, CA; 14.8% ABV
$8 at the Richmond, CA, store on 4 Nov

Forefront_2012_ZinOn the first night, I thought this wine needed 1:15 – 1:45 to air, but then showed tasty fruit of dark blackberry / boysenberry, tar, earthy orange / orange peel.  I thought, “Well, the flavors are pretty tasty, but the body’s kind of light and there’s not all that much depth to it.”  So, I thought, for the price, this is definitely Drinkable, and maybe should be Thumbs Up, but I’m not sure I can go there…

However, the saved, single-glass, screwcap bottle was delicious.  The flavors were quite similar, but with a thicker texture, the fruit a little redder and a lot more integrated and aromatic.  The “orange” broadened to include some nutmeg, and was overall quite lovely.  So… while I still think this wine probably shouldn’t be held for more than a year or maybe two, I’ll go with Thumbs Up!

5 thoughts on “Forefront 2012 Zinfandel by Pine Ridge

  1. Gary Dowling

    I picked this up at Santa Rosa, thought it was well made but not inspiring. Maybe I’ll have to give it more airing time. Very smooth, not a fruit bomb, just seems to lack a certain zing.

    Reply
    1. BargainWhine Post author

      Hi Gary. On the first night, I would have said the much the same of this wine, although I might have said “charm” instead of “zing.” Not sure what results you’d get by leaving half the bottle for the next day.

      Reply
  2. Bill

    Hey BargainWhine, Since most of your posting are Richmond related, do you have any way or data base showing if the reviewed wines are available at other Bay Area Grocery Outlets?
    Oakland, Berkeley?

    Reply
    1. BargainWhine Post author

      Hi Bill. GO corporate probably has the data of which wines have been shipped to which stores, but I don’t have access to it. Even if I did, it wouldn’t tell me which wines are still at which stores. When I have been to Oakland of late, I have not seen much of interest there that was not at Richmond, but things to tend to sell out faster at Oakland.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

