Vina Arnaiz 2009 Crianza

Ribera del Duero DO, Spain; 100% Tempranillo; 14% ABV
$8 at the Richmond, CA, store on 2 Nov. Probably still there.

VinaArnaiz_2009_CrianzaHi all.  I apologize because I thought I had published this a while ago, but I just noticed it in the “Drafts” section.  My recollections are that I liked this wine a lot.  I thought it needed a couple hours in a decanter to show soft, ripe red cherry fruit with nice earthy, woody, aged complexity.  The red cherry gained a tangy, slightly purple, liqueur-like character after a little more air.  It was very similar to a nice Rioja Crianza, but was softer, riper, and less acid than the Riojas I’ve tasted.

The saved, single-glass, screwcap bottle was also good, but not as yummy as it was the first night.  IMO, this would be a good red to go with turkey dark meat for Thanksgiving tomorrow.

One thought on “Vina Arnaiz 2009 Crianza

Leave a Reply

