Windsor Oaks 2011 Pinot Noir

Russian River Valley, Sonoma County, CA; 14.1% ABV
$6 at the Richmond, CA, store on 8 Jan

WindsorOaks_2011_PinotNoir_RRVOf the three Windsor Oaks reds that arrived recently, this Pinot was the one about which I was most intensely curious.  However, I wound up being a bit disappointed.

On the first night, I thought the wine showed nice Russian River Pinot fruit of lighter red cherry, orange, and lighter earth / wood, in a delicate body / presentation.  Unfortunately, it also had a strong aspirin / cheap candy aspect that never went away.  However, I couldn’t tell when it had fully aired, so I suspected it might need more age, and hoped the saved, single-glass, screwcap bottle would be better.

Said saved bottle, although showing fruit that was darker red cherry with a little black cherry, still had the aspirin / artificial flavor aspect I disliked on the first night.  So, although I really expected and wanted to like this, I couldn’t really get into it.

12 thoughts on “Windsor Oaks 2011 Pinot Noir

    1. BargainWhine Post author

      My experience with the Zin is that while it has nice ripe fruit flavors, they are so weak as to be mostly obscured by what would otherwise be a nice oak finish.

      Reply
        1. seedboy

          I have revisited the zin today. I think the fruit is emerging, yet I see why BW said what he did. This is not a big zin, but I suspect that with some more time to settle down it could be an elegant one. They sprung for some expensive oak.

          Reply
          1. BargainWhine Post author

            I am curious and optimistic enough about the Pinot Noir that I got another bottle to try in a few months. I am hoping it will become decent Pinot for the money after some exposure to the poor storage conditions in my house. 🙂

            Reply
            1. Darrell

              BW, from your recent comment about the Swami PN and your abode’s temperature fluctuation, I wouldn’t worry too much about aging wines in the East Bay. True, you don’t live in SF, but the East Bay isn’t too bad as far as the average daily temp goes. Things could be worse on the lee side of the East Bay Hills. The reason I’m saying this is that I have a friend down near San Diego where the average temp, along the coast, is higher than the Bay Area’s and his wines haven’t suffered from just passive cellaring in a separate back room of his garage. I think Delmartian can corroborate the mild winters and the warm, muggy days of summer in Oceanside, CA. Anyway, I wouldn’t worry too much about aging wines 3-4 years in the East Bay.

          2. seedboy

            The zin soldiered on for a third day. It had neither improved nor deteriorated.
            My wife has instructed me that we need to calm our spending so I’m not likely to buy much of these for the future.

            Reply
          3. seedboy

            It turns out that last winter I bought 6 bottles of the 2012 version of the Zin when I was at the San Diego store. It still is not very generous. It is a mouthful of wine with good tannin and structure but the fruit seems to be hiding. Such is the nature of mountain-grown fruit, which is what this purports to be. I will check the rest of the bottle today.

            Reply
  1. BargainWhine Post author

    I tasted a bottle of this wine that someone returned today. It looked like it had been opened, tasted, had the cork put back in, and then returned. It tasted like that, too, in that the fruit was still pretty fresh. It had very little of that flavor I objected to in my bottle, but there wasn’t all that much to the wine either. The fruit was light and rather simple. Still an ok Pinot for the money, but not exciting, either.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

