Astrale e Terra 2009 Cabernet Sauvignon

Estate Cabernet Sauvignon, Atlas Peak, Napa Valley, CA; 14.4% ABV
$8 at the Richmond, CA, store on about 4 Feb.  Long gone there.

ASTRALEeTERRA_2009_CabSauvThis wine seemed at first a bit thin and tangy for a Cabernet, but after about 1:15 – 2 hours of air, the smooth, creamy, ripe fruit emerged: dark red / purple cherry with a little plum, blackberry / mulberry, black rocky minerality, and a little brown earth / caramel aged complexity.  You do need some patience for this to air, but it’s very good wine and interesting Cabernet for the price.

The next day, the saved single-glass, screwcap bottle was very much the same, suggesting this wine still had a good life ahead of it, even if there’s no need to wait to drink it.

The Richmond store got this wine, the 2006 Merlot, and the 2010 Arcturus (Bordeaux-style blend that might contain Syrah) at the same time.  DavidLikesWine posted positive notes on the Merlot.  Has anyone tried the Arcturus?

11 thoughts on “Astrale e Terra 2009 Cabernet Sauvignon

  1. Darrell

    Vinogeek, I like your moniker btw, a lot of us forget why many try to drink Bordeaux and that is less alcohol and body though this wine lists substantial alcohol by usual Bordeaux circumstances. The flavors and aromatics have to be there for enjoyment and that is a problem with most GO Bordeaux. With a recent spate of birthday celebrations, my family had occasion to have the same chateau from 2 vintages, 16 years apart and all aged in our cellar. This wine one would call a super second growth and the younger wine is a Parker 100 pointer and from a great vintage. The older was from what I would call from a Classic vintage. The trouble with great Bordeaux vintages is the high sugars and earlier harvest. The wine is more CA-like in mouth feel, but for me, the aromatics aren’t there as much as the lesser vintage. In the end, I preferred the Classic vintage due to aromatics and didn’t mind the thinner wine. The great vintage bottle is worth 2 1/2 times the lesser vintage bottle. I think I’d make a 2 for 5 trade for this wine anytime.

    Reply
    1. Vinogeek

      Darrell, the “Classic” Bordeaux sounds like great wine. Love it when what might be considered a lesser gem turns into something special. That’s what makes wine hunting such a hoot. Hopefully my 2009 and 2010 Bordeaux, 22nd growth will turn out as well as your Classic. Lol

      Reply
      1. Darrell

        After a couple of decades Bordeaux buying hiatus, I was willing to buy the 2010’s on the first tranche, gagged at the pricing and said forget this. I’ll drink what I have and hope to get lucky at GO. Vinogeek, I have a feeling you are a bit younger than I am and are inured to some of this pricing due to youth. Enjoy any Growth from 2010 even a 22nd.

        Reply
        1. Vinogeek

          After becoming a bona fide wine geek relatively recently, about 6 years, I’ve become very aware of not over buying more than I can drink & share. Kept having to buy another celler, then added another, and another, lol. Now, even in my lower end purchases (which is mostly what I buy, $5-$25), I have to really enjoy a wine, or it’s not worth it. In the wine world, that’s the fun of it, finding the gems that to our own palates bring special enjoyment.

          Reply
  2. Gary Dowling

    I tried the Arcturus Red Blend 2010, it was a bit closed on first uncorking, but opened up to a dense, smooth, well made wine.Not a fruit bomb,just well integrated flavors and tannins. A thumbs up.

    Reply
    1. Seedboy

      I am drinking the Arcturus now. It is a crowd pleasing Bo Do blend, made to be drunk youngish I suspect. It would probably suit me better in about five years.

      Reply
  3. Expat

    I thought this wine was quite good and not thin at all. It had good structure and generous but not overbearing fruit. I didn’t have your patience, BW, in terms of giving it time to breathe but I did enjoy it over a couple hours. I thought it was pretty tasty out of the gate and just become more elegant as it aired.

    Reply
  4. Vinogeek

    Thanks for the review. Funny thing is sometimes it’s actually nice to have a thin Cabernet that can be paired with chicken and maybe even fish. Yes, a Cab with seafood. There are so many cellartracker and vivino reviews that downgrade a wine’s score because of lack of body, fruit, or extraction, when it just might be the perfect alternative to a Pinot Noir.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

