Astrale e Terra 2010 Arcturus

The producer web site says the Arcturus is made from “Merlot, Cabernet Sauvignon, Cabernet Franc, Petit Verdot and sometimes even Syrah.”  I could not find specific info for this vintage.
Napa Valley, CA; 14.2% ABV
$8 at the Richmond, CA, store on 15 Feb

ASTRALEeTERRA_2010_ArcturusAfter the Astrale e Terra 2009 Cabernet was so tasty, I hoped this 2010 Arcturus (Bordeaux-style) red blend would be good, too.  It is pretty good, but I suspect it will get better with a little more age.

At first pour, the wine tasted of nicely complex red fruit and some of the black rock that I found in the 2009 Cabernet, but although it became more rich and smooth, the wine never seemed to fully open up to its initial promise.

So I was glad when, indeed, the saved single-glass, screwcap bottle was right away more rich and full-bodied.  With a little more air, the wine showed flavors of purple / red cherry, cassis / blackberry, black earth / rock, finishing with somewhat coarsely textured tannin.  The last couple sips, as they often are, were more evolved into a not-all-that-complex but pleasantly elegant wine.  While it’s not outstandingly stellar, I think two or three more years of cellar time would allow this to resolve into a pretty tasty wine for the price.

6 thoughts on “Astrale e Terra 2010 Arcturus

  1. Joel M

    I’ll chime in with a strong two-thumbs up. A nicely made wine with good structure and solid fruit. One of the better quality Bordeaux blends I’ve had from GO. I’d rate the wine a strong 88 pts…

    Reply
  2. seedboy

    If I owned a restaurant I would happily serve this as wine by the glass. Nice Bo Do blend in the drink, me now category.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

