Two Novelties in Pinot Noir

Graf Hardegg 2008 Pinot Noir “Vom Schloss”
Weinviertel region, northeastern Austria; 13% ABV
imported by USA Wine West for World Wine Headquarters
$3 at the Richmond, CA, store on 3 March; all gone next day

GrafHardegg_2008_PinotNoirThe only previous Graf Hardegg wine I’ve tasted before was a rosé of Pinot Noir.  It tasted like it had been a lovely wine but was a bit too old by the time it showed up at the GO.  So I was rather wary of this wine when it showed up.  But at this price it sold quickly, and I thought I’d get one (to open with the Pinot below) before it vanished.  It was amazingly good!

I did not take notes but what I recall is lovely, delicate Pinot flavors of light cherry, strawberry, slightly stemmy earthiness, Pinot funk, and slight orange.  When I opened it, I was worried it would start tasting spoiled after some air, but it became slightly darker and more compelling with time.  It was so good that I opened the half bottle I had planned to store for another night, and we had no trouble finishing it.

Louis Sipp 2009 Pinot Noir “Nature’S”
imported by Maritime Wine Trading Collective, SF, CA
Alsace, France; 12.5% ABV
$5 at the Richmond, CA, store on 29 Feb

LouisSipp_2009_PinotNoir_AlsaceI had never tried a Pinot Noir from Alsace before, and I had no idea what to expect.  It turns out it is, much like Alsatian whites, closer to a German style of wine than to a more typical French.  It has the character of a more northern wine, softer and darker, with a certain mustiness that is not just Pinot funk.  The fruit showed darker red cherry and not too much else.  I was not very excited about this wine, and the second half bottle (stored in a 375ml bottle and stoppered with very little air) was not much different.  I found it tolerably Drinkable.

8 thoughts on “Two Novelties in Pinot Noir

  1. Vinogeek

    Found the 2010 Louis Sipp Pinot, and it’s delicious. Anyone one know the differences between the 2009 and 2010? Thanks for any feedback.

    Reply
  2. seedboy

    I did find the 2010 Sipp at the Pleasant Hill store. Light but just enough fruit to match the minerality and acid. I love it.

    Reply
    1. jhrabideau

      Found the Sipp pinot noir at the Rancho Cordova store–bought a couple bottles, went back yesterday and got a dozen. The earthiness, minerality and acid on it are exquisite–combined with the smokiness of the wood, and dark red fruit, this was an easy buy. Does benefit by about an hour of airing.

      Reply
      1. BargainWhine Post author

        Wow. Clearly I misunderstood this wine. Thanks for pointing out what you liked about it, Seedboy and JH.

        Reply

Leave a Reply

