Seghesio 2009 “Quindici” Toscana IGT

Toscana Indicazione Geografica Tipica, Italy
80% Sangiovese, 10% Merlot, 10% Alicante Bouschet; 13.5% ABV
$10 at the Richmond, CA, store on 22 March

Seghesio_2009_QuindiciThis wine was made in cooperation between Seghesio, a Sonoma county winery, and Italian winemakers, produced near Montalcino, Tuscany.  The blend certainly sounded interesting to me; I surmised the medium structure of Sangiovese would be made a little more accessible by Merlot, and a little more supported by the tannin of Alicante Bouschet.  I did not find the wine to be that easily dissected, but it is pretty good.

I thought it needed 2.5 – 3 hours in a decanter to air, then showing earthy flavors of dark red cherry, cherry pit, tarry dark plum, black raspberry, wood, and some lighter red cherry and a rather tannic finish.  (It’s possible that, given some time to settle, the wine could have been decanted off some tannic sediment.  I didn’t want to wait. 🙂 )  I think it’s a nicely complex and interesting wine.  In overall character, and as a slightly nontraditional Sangiovese-based wine, if not in the flavors exactly, this reminded me of the Arceno 2005 Chianti Classico RiservaDavidLikesWine wrote, “Definitely more old world cedar-y notes along with something I’d call leather and some mineral-y acidity. I get the cherry and violets from the Sangiovese, but definitely more restrained in fruit than even some of the chianti’s I’ve had.”  Expat seemed to like it, too.  After three hours of air, the fruit became soft and gently textured, making me think this is perfectly mature now.

The next day, I thought the saved single-glass, screwcap bottle still needed about an hour to air.  The flavors were similar to the first day’s, but were a little redder and perhaps more acid.  Although it’s probably better on the first day, it’s still very tasty.  I would say it’s not one of GO’s best bargains at $10 (although still not bad), but it’s definitely worth the sale price of $8.

3 thoughts on “Seghesio 2009 “Quindici” Toscana IGT

  1. Expat

    I think you’re review is very accurate and much more descriptive than my clipped description in the What’s New section. I liked this wine but didn’t love it. Definitely aggressive acidity that works with food but may be a touch off-putting. Full disclosure, I didn’t give it enough air before drinking it. I came back to it the next two nights and it held up well. Definitely an old-world, Euro style wine. As a value judgment, if I had to choose between two of these or one Old Telegram and I’d take the single OT.

    Reply
    1. Darrell

      Expat, I have been trying to not try Old Telegram, but now have to investigate Old Telegram based on your twofer statement, but the idea of aging in screw cap doesn’t sound appealing.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

