Castell de Raimat 2014 Rosé

Costers del Segre DO, Spain
70% Cabernet Sauvignon, 30% Tempranillo; 13% ABV
$4 at the Richmond, CA, store on about 18 May

CastellDeRaimat_2014_RoseI liked this label’s elegant presentation and the wine’s delicate color, and also I remembered a couple Raimat reds that had been pretty good deals.  Probably because my hopes had been high, I thought this wine was pretty good but not great.

The wine did not change much over time, immediately tasting of cantaloupe and red berries, with hints of tangerine and pink grapefruit, when warmed a little yellow fruit, and very little if any wood.  It is pleasantly delicate and acceptably complex, but I found it a bit soft and unstructured for my taste.  It did not stand up to the assertively flavored squid with black bean sauce I made to go with it.

8 thoughts on “Castell de Raimat 2014 Rosé

  1. Jodell Hinojosa

    For $5 at Grocery Outlet, it is becoming my summer rose. Not a 90+, but very easy to drink on a hot summer day.

    Reply
  2. GOwinelover

    I’ll never forget the time I was at one of the cheaper dim sum spots in Oakland Chinatown at 11 on a Tuesday and 6 retirees were sitting reading the Chinese papers, eating and drinking vintage Frenchanting reds. It was eye opening. Maybe someone had a cellar pr maybe just a lot of cash. Either way, interesting sight.

    Reply
    1. Darrell

      Gowl, how’s San Diego? Yeah, “It was eye opening” when I had dinner at that San Mateo County Chinese restaurant because nobody in that party who drank a bottle of red each spoke a lick of English that I could hear just as your Chinese newspaper reading, dim sum group. Who’da thunk French reds with cheap dim sum? Gowl, what are Frenchanting reds? Going to have to incorporate that term into my wine lexicon.

      Reply
  3. Darrell

    Most of the time I, too, prefer white with shellfish, but much can depend how it’s sauced. A common Cantonese way of serving lobster, for instance, is in a black bean sauce that has much garlic and, hence, strongly flavored. A very strong white or light red would my preference.

    Reply
  4. glpease

    I agree with BW’s assessment overall, with the arguable exception that I really like this wine a lot. It’s a wonderful warm-weather quaffer, with enough substance, structure and balance to withstand the assault of a more delicate squid dish, or some nice mussels (for which I would open another bottle for steaming), or a lot of other things, but black bean sauce is tough to pair with anything that isn’t either very assertive, or a bit on the sweet side. If I had a pool, I’d probably find it a wonderful afternoon poolside companion. Last night, it was a lovely pre-dinner social wine, keeping me cool whilst I discharged my grill and sautée duties. But, for the seared duck and grilled flatiron, I chose something with a louder voice.

    If I were pressed to critique the winemaking, I’d say that it would have benefited from a higher percentage of Tempranillo, and a slightly earlier picking of the CS to offer a little more acidity, a little more punch, but managing my expectations, I still really like it for what it is. I’ll probably buy a case or so of this to drink over the summer, providing I’m not beaten to the punch.

    Reply
    1. Darrell

      GL, please don’t think I am directing this at you, but you bring up this seeming quandary about what to pair up with black bean sauce and this brings out my gripe about people eating Caucasian-Chinese food and this myth about sweet to off dry white wines with this type of food. First of all ,most of us here are more sophisticated about ordering Caucasian-Chinese food and don’t order sweet and sour whatever and so pair these sweet and off dry Riesling and Gewurzes with that. Personally, I would pair a black bean sauce with a PN [Pinot Noir] as one would with a rich salmon dish. Black bean sauces don’t have a whole lot of sugar, but true, it is assertive and can stand up to reds easily. Why limit oneself to the industries’s myth of Riesling and Gewurz. With good Chinese food one has the opportunity to have all kinds of wines including Bordeaux and Burgundy. Why limit yourself to this fiction and myth. I live in the North Bay, north of SF, and don’t get out too often to SF for Chinese food, but within the last month have visited a San Mateo County Chinese restaurant and saw a large party drink all CS or Merlot with their dinner with no Burgundy shaped bottles. The chef came out and joined the table and another bottle came out. I was surprised as heck as to what they drank, not that it was all red, but a bottle a person. Jeez. A couple of days ago I went into SF Chinatown and had dinner in an underground, Chinese greasy spoon and a couple of guys had ordered steamed Black Bass and were having CS with it and some kind of fully mature cauliflower stir fry. Personally, I would have preferred a dry white with all that. GL, I believe you are of British background and maybe in the industry. The Brits at least have the decency to ask a Chinese wine person to address Chinese cuisine with wine, European wine in this case, as I remember a decades ago Decanter article, a British wine magazine, to discuss wine and Chinese food. I’ll get off the soapbox now.

      Reply
      1. Seedboy

        Last time I ate in a Chinese restaurant we ordered a lot of shellfish and drank white Burgundy with it, then when the quails were served, red Burgundy. We’d do the same with Vietnamese food.

        Reply

Leave a Reply

