Viña Barroca 2014 Mencia

Bierzo DO, Spain
100% Mencia; 13% ABV
$5 at the Richmond, CA, store on 5 June

Barroca_2015_MenciaI picked this up after positive experiences with other Mencia wines (see here and here).  This wine is a little young still, but it is very good.

On the first night, I thought it needed 1.5 – 2 hours (as best I can recall; didn’t take notes) for the fruit to darken and sweeten, showing tangy fruit of darker plum, cherry, and raspberry, with some earth / spice.

The second half (stoppered in a 375ml bottle with very little air) I opened for guests.  They liked it, but I didn’t get to take any notes.  I liked it better than on the first night.

So… out of obligation to my readers only, of course, I got another bottle.  This one, I opened and immediately split it into two half bottles, saving both for other nights.  I opened one of those tonight, and it is indeed quite good.  The fruit in this medium-bodied wine has a ripe, elegant, smoothness along with tart / zingy acid, showing flavors of red cherry, raspberry and lighter red roses, darkening over a couple hours to plum, blueberry / boysenberry, dark cherry, hint of dark roses, finishing with slight earth / spice / herbs and moderate tannin.  It should be fine for at least another couple years.

3 thoughts on “Viña Barroca 2014 Mencia

  1. BdB

    I concur with your review BgW of the Barroca Mensia, it takes quite awhile (2h+) for it to lose its astringency (alcohol I guess) but then is quite nice, very dry, which I like, I like that tart/zingy edge you mention, almost salty, nice nose and finish too. Gets better the next evening. Nice wine. I’ll try to get a few more of this and see how it tastes in a year.

    Reply
  2. Darrell

    BW, I just had the Quinta das Maias 2002 Jaen, Dão DOC you reviewed in Oct. 2013 under Two Portuguese Reds quite recently and I just can’t get too excited about the variety or wine. Just as you said, I did like the distinguished packaging. Thought there would be a better wine with such a bottle.

    Reply
    1. BargainWhine Post author

      Hi Darrell. Sorry you didn’t like it. But… this was reviewed October, 2013. The wine may have gone off by now.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

