Jardin des Charmes 2015 rosé

Coteaux de Béziers Indication Géographique Protégée, Languedoc, southern France
70% Cinsault, 30% Grenache; 12.5% ABV
$5 at the Richmond, CA, store on 29 June

JardinDesCharmes_2015_roseThis wine looked lovely and is from the current vintage, so I had to try it.  Compared to the also-current Chateau La Sauvageonne rosé, this wine is more austere and structured, but also delicious.

The wine shows flavors of medium-ripe pink grapefruit, a little tangerine / quince, less ripe white melon, hint of lavender / jasmine, with slight skin bitterness and minerality, and crisp acid.  Some red berries and yellow apple come out more as it warms.

None of my bottle survived until the next day, but I expect it would follow the usual pattern: fruit more forward and integrated, less minerality and complexity, still quite tasty.

5 thoughts on “Jardin des Charmes 2015 rosé

    1. BargainWhine Post author

      Hi, yes, I’ve tried both. I’ve been meaning to post reviews of both, but, since it hasn’t happened yet, I’ll just summarize here.

      I thought the Chardonnay tasted weirdly funky, and I did not like it. At first, I thought it might just need more air, but no, it stayed the same over the two or three days we consumed it. I found it surprisingly acid for a southern French Chardonnay, although for all I know maybe I should not have been surprised.

      Certainly the Cabernet was very ripe and dark. It started out tasting pretty good, but aired well over a couple hours, still with thicker tannin on the finish and a slight woodiness that I think of as showing its youth. I liked it better on the second and third days, when it showed smooth, ripe dark Cabernet fruit, more forward and without the obvious woodiness of the first day. I wasn’t that fond of its unstructured character, but I thought it was pretty good Cabernet for $5, and I preferred it to many sweeter Californian offerings. I’d probably pay the dollar more for the Terres D’Orb (spelling?) southern French red that is mostly Cabernet and Merlot, with some traditional southern French varietals thrown in.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

