Les Dauphins 2013 Côtes du Rhône Reserve

Côtes du Rhône AOC, France; 12.5% ABV
$7 at the Richmond, CA, store on 14 July

LesDauphins_CotesDuRhoneAt first, this struck me as too acid for the ripeness of its fruit.  After some air, the fruit became a little more rich, but still with a good amount of acid and minerality.  Although the flavors were rather subdued, there were nicely complex: honeysuckle and peach of (apparently) Viognier, yellow grapefruit / lemon (Marsanne or Roussanne?), yellow melon (becoming very ripe or even slightly oxidized melon with more air), white pear.  For me, it’s not very “Ooh! Yummy!”, but nicely complex and structured.  I’m hoping it will be a bit more accessible tomorrow.

Unfortunately, no.  The next day, the rest in the bottle was quite similar to how it was on the first day.  It’s well made and all, but for me, not very pleasurable.  Those who like the more acid and bitter styles of European winemaking may like it.

7 thoughts on “Les Dauphins 2013 Côtes du Rhône Reserve

    1. BargainWhine Post author

      Hi Mike and welcome! I meant oxidized to describe a very ripe yellow melon here, and was not a comment on the wine. The wine was quite fresh, mostly just lacking IMO much intensity to the fruit.

      Reply
    2. philinoakland

      I got a bottle of this from the Oakland store yesterday. It was oxidized to the point of being undrinkable, unfortunately. Obviously, there’s bottle to bottle variation but, I’m guessing this is why the winery is unloading it.

      Reply
  1. seedboy

    I opened a bottle of this last night and found that it took quite a bit of air to show much. I wonder also if I did not drink it too cold. Well, it is on my kitchen counter now so I’ll report back later.

    Reply
  2. itadori

    Hi! I found your weblog today. wow! I love buy and taste diffarent wine at GOutlet.
    Thank you for report, I will check before I buy.

    Reply
    1. BargainWhine Post author

      Itadori, I am not really an authority, just someone who likes wine. Please let us know your opinions about the wines you taste. Arigato!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

