Praxis 2013 Viognier

Sonoma County, CA; 14.1% ABV
$4 at the Richmond, CA, store on 8 July

Praxis_2013_ViognierAs usual, I was excited to see a Viognier arrive, and was, as ever, hopeful it would be good.  This one is not an exceptional example of the varietal, but it is a decently tasty Viognier for the price, made in a more reserved and structured style.

While I thought the wine showed a bit of yellow apple and lemon that reminded me more of Chardonnay, there is also a good bit of (what I think of as) more typical Viognier flavors: yellow peach / apricot, white peach / peach pit, with a bit of melon rind acid making it on the crisp side.  With more air and warmth (than fresh from the fridge), the fruit softens some to become more balanced, a really quite enjoyable wine for the price.  The next day it was much the same.

There have been a few wines lately, this one included, which I think are probably pretty good wines for the price, but just not that much to my liking.  In this style of crisp and structured wines that I wasn’t that into, we’ve had the Trivento “Amado Sur” Torrontés, the Errazuriz “Max Reserva” Sauvignon Blanc, and the Les Dauphins Côtes du Rhône.  Certainly these wines have been popular enough at the Richmond store, with the exception so far of the CdR, which might be because it’s $7, slightly pricey for the GO.    So… has anyone out there been fans of these wines, who wants to tell me about them, to expand my horizons a little?  🙂

2 thoughts on “Praxis 2013 Viognier

  1. seedboy

    This Viognier did not do much for me. The Les Dauphins blanc also left me underwhelmed, i liked the texture/mouth feel, it just seemed shy in flavor.

    Reply
  2. ptauntie

    I just bought this Viognier and tried it last night. It was a different taste, but I kind of liked it. Don’t know that much about this varietal, so it was a blind tasting for me. $4 at the Manteca store on 7/18.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

