Gauther 2013 Sauvignon Blanc

Block House Vineyard, Yountville, Napa Valley, CA
$5 at the Richmond, CA, store

Gauthier_2013_SauvBlancAfter the Gauthier Sonoma Valley Zinfandel attracted so much attention, I thought I’d try this Sauvignon Blanc, which also looked quite good.  Probably because my expectations were high, I wasn’t wowed by it, but it is quite good for the price.

I thought the wine had nice fruit of yellow lemon and melon, good acid and a very nice minerally structure.  I’d wish it to be more complex, but it’s a tasty and well-made wine for the price.

 

6 thoughts on “Gauther 2013 Sauvignon Blanc

  1. philinoakland

    Yeah, I liked this one (the Gauther). I’ve been enjoying the Goss Creek Chenin blanc too, but they’re all out at most stores now.

    Reply
  2. DavidLikesWine

    Out of curiosity, which GO SB’s are the two of you liking right now? I’m low, but prefer to pick up something recommended rather than hunt around this time.

    Reply
  3. Zoel

    BW – again we agree, as i had mentioned in my GG Zin review, I thought the SBlanc was indeed well-made and potable, but “meh”…there are so many good SBs out there, I’ve opted not to repurchase this one even though the pricepoint is good.

    Reply
    1. seedboy

      Good point Zoel. The most reliable varietal at GO is SB. I really like SB and I only try about half of the ones that look interesting. I probably have 2.5 cases of GO SB at home

      Reply

Leave a Reply

