Jade Mountain 2013 Chardonnay

84% Napa County, 16% Mendocino County; 13.5% ABV
$5 at the Richmond, CA, store on 15 September

jademountain_2013_chardonnayI had been interested in this wine for a while because I recall the name Jade Mountain from when I started drinking wine in the later 90s.  I seem to recall they made some interesting Rhone-varietal wines.  Although I’m sure they’ve been through a lot of changes in the intervening years, the personal association still made me hopeful this would be a good wine.  ‘Twas not to be.

On first pour, the wine showed typical Chardonnay yellow apple, but with some unpleasant and rough funkiness.  This sometimes means that the wine just needed a little more air, and indeed, smooth and ripe fruit of apple, pineapple, and pear did come forth significantly more, becoming reasonably drinkable but still sort of off-putting for me.

The next day, the fruit and unpleasant flavor had both become more fully pronounced, making it overall worse in my opinion: medium-ripe yellow apple, dried pineapple (slightly sulfurous?), ripe and smooth but with an unpleasant over-ripeness or perhaps slight oxidation.  Although it’s not tremendously offensive, I didn’t like it very much.

3 thoughts on “Jade Mountain 2013 Chardonnay

  1. seedboy

    Jade Mountain was a good winery when owned by the Chalone Wine Group. It specialized in Rhone varieties but made a really good Paras Vineyard merlot, and even a nebbiolo for a vintage or two. When Diageo bought the CWG, this label started to be ignored and ended up just being an imprint for grocery store wines. I’ve been avoiding this wine but still have a magnum of the 2001 Mourvedre somewhere.

    Reply
  2. Zoel

    Hi BW – good review here, although we had a slightly better bottle. Not sure if it is bottle variation or taste (only my wife drank it, over three days), but she thought it solid and respectable (and you two seem to have similar palates). Jade, btw, was sold years ago to Treasury, and, yes they had expertise in the Rhoneish world, mostly solid syrahs if I recall. Now just another larger generic brand in the stable, methinks.

    Reply
    1. BargainWhine Post author

      Hi Zoel. I’m glad to hear that your wife enjoyed the wine. I also thought that the first part of the taste was a solid and respectable wine, but the latter part and the finish put me off. It was likely, as you suggest, just something about my bottle, since I find it hard to imagine that someone whose taste well tracks mine would find nothing objectionable about it.

      Thanks to you and Seedboy for some of the history of the winery, although sad.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

