Diablita 2012 Zinfandel “Zin-A”

Sonoma County, CA; 14.7% ABV
$7 at the Richmond, CA, store on 12 Oct.  Gone now.

diablita_2012_zinfandelWe got three cases of this on Monday, and there were only 8 or so bottles of it left on Wednesday morning, so despite the kinda cheesy retro label, I had to try it.  I concur with whoever bought so much.  If you see it, buy it.

While it’s obviously good from first pour, the wine benefits from a couple hours’ air, or more.  The label says the fruit was sourced from Dry Creek and Russian River Valleys, and the wine very much tastes like it.  They are the areas from which I first started drinking Zinfandel, helping to make this what I regard as a real Zin.  The tangy dark red cherry / black raspberry of Dry Creek is more prominent, supported by the darker spiced blackberry of Russian River.  After about 2.5 hours, the two integrate very nicely.  At the end, there was some slightly bitter roughness that made me wonder: would it smooth out the next day or fall apart?

The next day, the wine (stoppered in a 375ml bottle with very little air) still needed a little air to smooth out wonderfully, with softly textured richness, distinctly better than on the first day.  This is terrific Zin for the price.

7 thoughts on “Diablita 2012 Zinfandel “Zin-A”

  1. BargainWhine Post author

    I opened my last bottle of this last night. While it was still delicious, it was tasting a little tired or faded, so drink up.

    Reply
  2. BargainWhine Post author

    Ok, so a couple people, GLPease and a co-worker in the wine section, have both said they think this Zin is fine but hardly exciting. Just to check for bottle variation, of course, I opened another bottle of this wine last night. It was the same as the first bottle, pretty good as you went along, but really good after 3 hours. Apparently, something about it really works for me and some others out there, but not for everyone.

    Reply
    1. BargainWhine Post author

      I opened a bottle of this a number of days ago, and I did not like it. The fruit was less rich and more simple, and there was a strong, herbal bitterness. Bottle or barrel or batch variation strikes again. I hope my remaining bottles are the good version.

      Reply
  3. DavidLikesWine

    This is really fantastic. Palo Alto has a good supply. They also have the 2012 Everett Ridge Estate Dry Creek Zin (the producer of this wine) for $12.99 as well.

    Reply
  4. BargainWhine Post author

    A friend alerted me that Oakland got some of this wine in. I just picked up a half case more, for myself and for friends, leaving about 4 to 5 cases on the shelf. I was told there’s no more in back.

    Reply
  5. BdB

    Thank you you, inspired me into buying a bottle when I saw it. Wish I bought more, will go see if there are, it’s delicious. As you say good right off but getting better with air

    Reply

Leave a Reply

