Macrae Family Winery 2013 Chardonnay

Bacigalupi Vineyard, Russian River Valley, Sonoma County, CA; 14.6% ABV
$8 at the Richmond, CA, store on about 12 October

macrae_2013_chard_bacigalupivnyd_2This was a in a group of four Macrae Family wines we received in one shipment.  The others were the 2012 “Hidden Ridge” Sonoma Mountain Cabernet Sauvignon ($20), 2013 Bacigalupi Vineyard Petite Sirah ($10), and 2010 (I think) Cole Ranch Riesling ($7).  DavidLikesWine gave a positive review to the Petite Sirah here.  I thought the Cabernet was a pretty good wine for the price, but that it should really just be laid down to age for several years, at least, as it’s really not showing that much right now.  This Chardonnay, however, I found disappointing.

My first impression was that the nose was rather subdued, making me search for some pear, yellow and green apple, lemon, vanilla.  There was more this on the delicate palate, but more lemony, and slightly creamy, with good acid on the finish.  I was left with the feeling that, while the wine wasn’t showing that much on the first night, it seemed very elegant and well made, so it might be more lively and interesting on the second day.

However, the next day, when I had hoped that more intensity and complexity might emerge, the wine was still a bit dull: green grape / pear / melon, maybe lime, with some solid yellow apple and gentle oak supporting.  It was really only okay for the price, at least at the GO.  Overall, I was quite underwhelmed given my high expectations.  What am I missing?

4 thoughts on “Macrae Family Winery 2013 Chardonnay

  1. DavidLikesWine

    I really really really wanted to love this. I think it’s “fine.” Not like my experience with older vintages. I gave it 3 days to come around, and while there are some really great components, something just seems missing. My 3 remaining bottles are going back in exchange for more Diablita Zin, which is fantastic.

    Reply
  2. seedboy

    I liked this wine. I appreciated the fact that it was not a butter bomb, was not big on forward tropical fruit, and the oak was not noticeable. As long as there is Field Works chard to be had I will be buying it instead but I might spring for a bottle during the sale.

    Reply
  3. john flaherty

    The Macrea Chardonnay was typical California and from a very good single vineyard. You could call it classic but with a bit of too much residual sugar when it warmed up. maybe some people had a bad bottle but what I drank was excellent. Bottom line, I would buy it again. FYI I worked in the trade in Boston and while I’m not an expert this is a good bottle.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

