2014 Sunce “Franicevic” Sauvignon Blanc

Shanti Vineyard, Russian River Valley AVA; 13.7% ABV
$5.99 at the Palo Alto store on December 8th

sunce_2014_sauvblancThis producer’s “Talty Vineyard” Zinfandel was one of my “go-to” purchases at the local mega-box store a few years back, so I decided to give this one a try. The fact that this wine was neutral-barrel fermented was intriguing as well as the fact that, per the informative back label, it was made in a “white Bordeaux style.” It is, indeed, pretty good.

The wine pours a pale gold bordering on platinum color, and on the nose I got some surprising tropical and peach notes with a bit of white flowers. On the palate the wine is pretty classic Sauvignon Blanc: pink grapefruit, citrus, some peppery notes. It definitely has that “grassy” note so many Sauv Blanc’s do, but in a pleasant way that adds some complexity to the overall flavor profile and isn’t too overpowering. There is a bit more heft on the palate (perhaps due to the barrel fermentation?) that I liked. A nice, clean 5-10 second finish.

On subsequent days this wine became a bit more disjointed with that “cat pee” note that I dislike in this varietal becoming increasingly prevalent in the nose, and the grassy notes on the palate became more pronounced. If you buy a bottle, best to finish it within 24 hours. Not spectacular, but a solid choice if you’re looking for a lighter white to have on hand for the holidays.

6 thoughts on “2014 Sunce “Franicevic” Sauvignon Blanc

  1. BargainWhine

    Hi all. I thought I had started a review of this wine, but never finished it. However, when I looked back in Drafts, there was a review that was finished or nearly so, and I’m not sure why I never published it. Here is what I had to say, fully polished or not:

    This wine’s label, RRV designation, and relatively recent vintage all made it look quite promising. It turns out I don’t like it all that much, but I suspect it’s just in a style I don’t understand very well.

    On the first night, the wine showed lemony yellow / pink grapefruit with a hint of green fruit (lime?), a thicker minerality and tart / juicy acid, but also with more bitterness and oak (I think) than I’d prefer. Although it wasn’t really my cup of tea, as it were, I suspect some of you out there who like the more bitter among the European styles may quite like this. The back label, I’m just reading now, claims it is in a “white Bordeaux-style,” a style with which I’m not that familiar.

    The next day, it was slightly softer and more rounded, but really much the same, so it seems like this is a well-made wine, deliberately made, but just something I haven’t learned to like. This wine will probably age well for a number of years more.

    Reply
  2. davidlikeswine Post author

    This is the only wine I’ve seen from them in some time, but if you go the the winery page, they still look active. SB, looks like the tasting room has moved to Santa Rosa.

    Reply
  3. seedboy

    Last weekend the tasting room on Hwy 12 in Kenwood was in business. This winery makes a lot of wines and probably has a hard time marketing them.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

