2010 Hearthstone Estate “Lodestone”

Paso Robles (Adelaida), CA; 14.8% AVB
Received as a sample for review from Palo Alto on December 27th.

hearthstone_lodestone-1This is the second of my two bottles of the recently arrived Hearthstone Estate wines. I was excited to try something different from this producer as I liked the “Paso Superiore “(66% Sangiovese, 17% Cabernet Sauvignon, 17% Cabernet Franc), and this one had a completely different makeup (60% Syrah, 22% Grenache, 18% Mourvedre). While they are different wines, they are made very much in the same style, and I quite liked this one, perhaps even a bit more than I liked the “Paso Superiore.”

The common thread I found between this wine and the “Paso Superiore” is the cleanness and purity of the fruit flavors done in a more subtle, nuanced style. This isn’t a sledgehammer and would also make quite a nice food wine. I got some black cherry and blackberry on the nose with a little smokiness coming out as the wine aired. On the palate I got dark fruit, some well integrated oak notes, a little pepperiness that bordered on the green/herbaceous side (not unpleasantly so) framed by some tangy acidity and soft tannins that took about an hour to emerge. We opened this with friends and quite enjoyed it so none survived to see the next day.

A repeat buy and thumbs up for me. I visited the Palo Alto store yesterday and this wine was still available in good quantity for $6.99 per bottle.

2 thoughts on “2010 Hearthstone Estate “Lodestone”

  1. BargainWhine

    I opened my bottle of this tonight, along with a bottle of the Cuvee Darius Fitou for comparison. I liked them both, but I thought the Fitou (1) had more of a darker liqueur-like character and more herbaciousness (garrigue, I suppose) and (2) was not as good as the bottle I reviewed at that link, seems to be getting past its prime. The Lodestone I thought had more overt woodiness, although well integrated, more complexity at this point, and more Syrah funk. I liked best about 10% Fitou in 90% Lodestone. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

