Rustenberg 2014 Sauvignon Blanc blend

58% Sauvignon Blanc, 33% Chardonnay, 9% Viognier; 13% ABV
Wine of Origin Western Cape, South Africa
$4 at the Richmond, Ca, store.  Gone now.

rustenberg_2014_whiteblendSorry to take a while getting to this; it was one of a couple white wines sitting in my fridge while I got over my cold.  Anyway, I think this is a nice wine for the money if any of it is still around.

I was intrigued by the blend, because I have noticed yellow tropical fruit flavors in SA SB that I haven’t in SB from anywhere else, and I thought the blend with Chardonnay and especially Viognier could be very nice.  The wine was indeed quite well made.  The nose showed yellow melon / apple, less ripe green melon, and some light yellow peach / apricot.  The palate is clean, gently crisp, and slightly minerally, with the ripe fruit flavors on the nose plus slight tropical fruit (mostly golden kiwi), balanced by some bitterness of citrus pith and grape skin.  The blend is seamless, although to me the wine is a bit intellectual rather than yummy.

The next day, however, the wine is definitely also yummy, with the sweetly ripe fruit coming forward over the bitterness, still elegantly blended and reasonably structured.

One thought on “Rustenberg 2014 Sauvignon Blanc blend

  1. lim13

    I concur with the description…and it’s tasty enough with reasonable acidity. The tough part for me is that it’s so “seamless” that I doubt that I’d have been able to guess what varieties were in the wine had I tasted it blind. I really didn’t detect the qualities of any particular variety except maybe the perfumed and fruity definition of Viognier. A decent white, but won’t be buying more. By the way, there appeared to be at least a few more cases at the Silverdale, WA store.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

