Giormani non-vintage Prosecco DOCG

Prosecco DOCG, Italy; 11% ABV
$10 at the Richmond, CA, store just before New Year’s Eve, 2016

giormani_prosecco_docgI bought this bottle because I’ve previously liked some Giormani offerings, and I wanted something to bring to a NYE party.  It turned out that my hosts were already quite well supplied, so I just brought this home, and opened it only this evening.  I find myself thinking it’s only okay.

On the palate, the wine is immediately pleasantly light-lemony, with perhaps some crisp white pear, but it then drifts into a sort of Sprite / 7-Up aspect of which I’m not that fond, finishing with some green grape skin..

I haven’t seen this DOCG offering since around the holidays, but a Giormani DOC Prosecco, $7 IIRC, is still around.

The next day, the wine was much the same, and I’m still not that excited about it as a way to spend $10.

Leave a Reply

