Street Cred 2013 Shiraz

McLauren Vale, South Australia; 14.0% ABV
$5 at the Richmond, CA, store on 24 Feb

img_0060This wine was one whose label seemed a bit odd, but it was from a good area, so I thought it might be a good wine in hiding.  I did decide that’s the case, although not on the first night.

The wine seemed promising, with ripe dark fruit, rather dry, but with a good bit of acid that I hoped would resolve as more fruit came out.  However, even over about 2.5 hours, it never really did.  The fruit, of blackberry / plum / blueberry, never really filled out and balanced the acid of boysenberry / plum, although the wine did soften a little and add possible complexities of light prune and mint.  I suspect this wine is still a bit young.

The next day, the saved single-glass, screw-cap bottle was much better, still needing a bit of air for the fruit to become accessible and, to my surprise, elegant, with the complexities of mint and earthy prune more definite.  This wine should probably be given another year or two of age, but is pretty good for the price.  I got another bottle that I’m plotting to blend with the Pioneer Red.  🙂

9 thoughts on “Street Cred 2013 Shiraz

  1. Doug Green

    I can’t figure out the best place to post a new note on an unreviewed wine, but since the wine is a 2013 Aussie Shiraz, (Thomas Hardy Oomoo Shiraz, South Australia, $4 all over San Diego), I thought I would put it here. This wine is a revelation. Given the price and the fact that it’s from a big volume producer, I expected a medium light weight, pleasant, fruit-driven Shiraz for near term drinking, along the lines of the Rosemount Diamond label. This isn’t that. This is much more serious, structured, ageworthy stuff. Almost a prototypical South Australian cool climate Shiraz for drinking with rich fatty food. Has some fine dusty tannins but a purity of fruit balanced by a racy acidity. A bright initial impression, with plums and blackcurrants on the palatte, with a hint of eucalyptus and a long lingering finish. This wine is a ridiculous bargain at $4 a bottle, and it is begging to be bought by the case if it’s still around come the time of the 20% sale. Honestly, this is presently the best sub $5 wine I’ve ever had from GO (or maybe anywhere else, for that matter). I’ll be picking up several more bottles tomorrow, and another case if it’s still around during the April 20% sale. If I had tasted this blind, I would have said that it was an above average to excellent example of a $14-17 Aussie Shiraz.

    Reply
    1. Darrell

      Doug, a new wine that I taste, I place under Guest Contributions so readers will find more current notes even though recent comments disappear in the right column. Most of us wouldn’t be able to find your evaluation that will disappear under an evaluated wine. Scouting info I place under What’s New, but sometimes short tasting notes might be included.

      Reply
      1. Doug Green

        Thanks Darrell. I just re-posted it there. I guess I initially couldn’t figure out if my note was going to end up in a pile with a bunch of wines that hadn’t been available for the last 5 years or so, but I see that it ended up at the top of the Guest Contributors review list, rather than at the bottom with the older notes.

        Reply
  2. Seedboy

    There is so little good wine at the GO? Well, I am running out of room because of the bargains I am finding. While we might disagree about which ones to buy, lots of us are finding great deals.

    Reply
  3. the connasewer

    The great G.O. wines are long gone from the stores. Years back many wineries dumped good stuff on the market. It’s over. Sure..if you gamble enough on the mystery labels you might come up with a decent bottle. Nothing lasts forever.

    Reply
    1. GOWineLover

      I can still remember my favorite Syrahs and Shirazs from GO. Back in 2009 or 2010 when I first discovered wine, GO had a Shiraz from McLaren Vale for $5 that was remarkable and another for $6 that was in Wine Spectator’s Top 100 that year (for whatever that is worth). I think most of the glory days are gone but I can say I found gems in 2015 when I still lived in the Bay Area, but I was also on text and email lists from owners who would email when they got them in. I was contributing more regularly but I’ve reduced my intake and there just isn’t much interesting in San Diego. I will be swinging by the Downtown store tonight to take a look.

      Reply
      1. Darrell

        GOWL, as I mentioned to Doug, North County might have a better selection, those towards Carlsbad. I believe Delmartian has found wines I thought only we could find in N. CA, Ardente CS comes to mind. If I remember correctly, you have been to the Point Loma GO and that is a nice area and would think it would have a better selection. I have been to the Downtown store and didn’t find a great selection when I was there a few years ago, but maybe that has changed.

        Reply
    2. Zoel

      Au contraire, Connasewer! I’ve made several case buys over the past year on huge-value wines…Bailiwick, Chase, Cairdean, Roubine Rose, Blackjack…sure, we gotta kiss a lot of frogs, and some toads as well – but the value equation continues to be stunning at times. I tend to believe the secret isn’t the mystery labels – it is timing to find the known quality producers with excess inventory to dispose of into my cellar. Keep the faith, dude!

      Reply
      1. Darrell

        “it is timing to find the known quality producers with excess inventory to dispose of into my cellar,” I like that.

        Reply

Leave a Reply

