Nieto Senetiner 2013 Bonarda (Charbono)

Lujan de Cuyo, Mendoza, Argentina; 13% ABV
$5 (I think) at the Richmond, CA, store some weeks ago.  No longer there.

After being open a couple hours, the wine shows soft, ripe, tangy, fruit of black raspberry / almost blackberry, dark cherry, purple plum / pit, violets / licorice, wood / coffee, with somewhat zingy acid of hibiscus tea and mild, chewy tannin on the finish.  It’s not a must-have, but it’s a quite good New World wine for the price.  It would make a good stand-in for Zinfandel.

The next day, the last bit in the glass was redder and more acid.  It was still pretty tasty, but it’s probably better consumed the first day.

This is one of many wines I bought before and while I was not drinking.  Please bear with me while I work through this backlog.

4 thoughts on “Nieto Senetiner 2013 Bonarda (Charbono)

  1. Doug Green

    Probably only an hour to an hour and a half on the first night, and then I put it on a vacuum pump for the next couple of days. One thing that I thought was most notable was that the wine tasted like a Barbara or Chianti on day 1, and more like a Zinfandel on day 2.

    Reply
  2. Doug Green

    FYI, I wrote this wine up in the Guest Contributions section on March 30th. I also liked it, although I thought it was even better on day 2, and I’m pretty sure the price was 5.99. It’s still available in Poway and Escondido.

    Reply
    1. BargainWhine Post author

      Hi Doug! Thank you for reminding me about your review. Do you recall how long you had it open the first night? At least, I was surprised how long it took to fully air.

      I meant to add that a potential bonus of my reviewing wines I bought a while ago is that we might have better discussions about them. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

